Premium Report - First Time vs Returning Sales
First Time vs Returning Sales
First Time vs Returning Sales is used to compare orders within a select period and divide Sales numbers into First Time vs. Returning Customers for each.
Unlike First Time vs Returning Customers, the date range for this report is based on the Order Date, and the columns for each are separated for ease of use.
This report displays the total key sales figures (Orders, Sales Revenue, AOV) for First Time vs Returning Customers (for the last 12 months, on a monthly basis) and provides you with the Returning Percentage too.
As a Premium Report, this is available on all Paid Plans of Report Toaster. If you aren't signed up, follow these steps here to upgrade your account.
Here are a few terms to be familiar with in order to understand First Time vs Returning Sales:
1.) Customer Type: This is split into First-time vs Returning. A customer is defined as a Returning Customer if they have more than 1 order placed in your store. Otherwise they are identified as First-time.
(Note that this uses the customer_type field from Shopify)
For example, if a customer placed their first order at my store, they would have a Customer Type of First Time. If they then placed a 2nd order, their Customer Type would switch to Returning.
2.) Returning %: What percentage of your Orders came from Returning Customers.
For example, if 750 Orders out of 1000 total came from Returning Customers one month, the Returning % for that month would be 75%.
3.) Returning Orders/First-time Orders: How many Orders came from Returning/First-time Customers respectively.
For example, if I had 750 Orders from Returning Customers and 250 from First-Time Customers, these fields would read 750 and 250 respectively.
4.) Returning Sales/First-time Sales: How much Sales Revenue came from Returning/First-time Customers respectively.
(Note that this uses the total_sales field from Shopify)
For example, if those 750 Returning Orders had a Total Sales of $15,000, then $15,000 would appear in the Returning Sales field.
5.) Returning/First-time AOV: What is the Average Order Value (AOV) of Orders from Returning/First-time Customers respectively. This is calculated by taking the First-time Sales and dividing by the number of First-time Orders.
For example, if those 250 First-time Orders had a First-time Sales of $7,500, then the First-time AOV would be $30.00
Like all Report Toaster reports, these reports are fully customizable - so you can adjust the date range, add/remove columns, introduce a filter or change the sort to suit your individual needs. See our basic guides here for more info. For other premium reports you can add to your account, check out our other article guides here.
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