Another entry in our 'Basics' series, this article will cover how to setup a Shared Link for a report in Report Toaster.
Note - You must be on a paid plan of Report Toaster to have access to this feature. You can check out our app listing for more information on our various plans.
For instance, suppose I wanted to create a Shared Link to a Taxes report to send a copy of the data to my accountant. We'll start with the Taxes report like so.
Creating a Shared Link
Once I've found the report I'm looking for, it's time to create the hyperlink. Start off by clicking the 3-button dropdown and selecting 'Share link' like so:
If you haven't created a Shared Link to this report before, it pops up with the following dialog box (click Ok to continue).
If you've already created a Shared Link before, it skips this step and takes you directly to the link below.
The system then displays a dialog window with your link like so:
From here, you can copy and paste the link directly, or click the 'copy' icon to the right of the link to copy the text directly to your clipboard. You can then paste the link in an email, document, or any other application just like a regular hyperlink.
This is what the recipient will see when they click on the link and navigate to the report:
As you can see, sharing a link to the report gives the recipient access to the exact same data you see when you open this individual report.
From here, they can still export the report (CSV, PDF, JSON) and adjust the columns, filters, date range or customize the view (e.g. adjust the Rows /Page) for ease of readability, However, they won't be able to see any of your other reports or change any of the actual settings on your account.
This is therefore a good way to share data with another recipient without having to give them access to your Shopify or your Report Toaster account.
Revoke a Link
Sometimes you want don't want the link to your report to be permanent. For instance, maybe your intended recipient only needs access to your data for a short duration, or you simply no longer want them to be able to see your data.
By clicking on the Revoke button, you can cause any Shared Links you have created for a report to immediately expire. A warning message will appear to confirm this decision like so:
By clicking Ok, any prior recipients of this Shared Link will no longer be able to access this report. If you wish to share the data with them again, you can simply create a new Shared Link by following the process outlined above.
And that's it!
For a more detailed explanation on this feature, check out our video here.