Premium Report - First Time vs Returning Sales
First Time vs Returning Sales
First Time vs Returning Sales is used to compare orders within a select period and divide Sales numbers into First Time vs. Returning Customers for each.
Unlike First Time vs Returning Customers, the date range for this report is based on the Order Date, and the columns for each are separated for ease of use.
This report displays the total key sales figures (Orders, Sales Revenue, AOV) for First Time vs Returning Customers (for the last 12 months, on a monthly basis) and provides you with the First-time vs Returning Percentage too.
As a Premium Report, this is available on all Paid Plans of Report Toaster. If you aren't signed up, follow these steps here to upgrade your account.
(click image to enlarge)
Here are a few terms to be familiar with in order to understand First Time vs Returning Sales:
1.) First Time/Returning %: What percentage of your Orders came from First-time/Returning Customers, respectively.
For example, if 27,441 Orders out of 33,103 total came from Returning Customers one month, the Returning % for that month would be 82.90%.
2.) First-time/Returning Orders: How many Orders came from First-time/Returning Customers respectively.
For example, if I had 27,441 Orders from Returning Customers and 5,662 from First-Time Customers, these fields would read 27,441 and 5,662 respectively.
3.) First-time/Returning Sales: How much Sales Revenue came from First-time/Returning Customers respectively.
(Note that this uses the total_sales field from Shopify)
For example, if those 27,441 Returning Orders had a Total Sales of $27,040,758.45, then $27,040,758.45 would appear in the Returning Sales field.
4.) First-time/Returning AOV: What is the Average Order Value (AOV) of Orders from First-time/Returning Customers respectively
This is calculated by taking the First-time/Returning Sales and dividing by the number of First-time/Returning Orders.
For example, if those 5,662 First-time Orders had a First-time Sales of $595,637.44, then the First-time AOV would be $105.20
Like all Report Toaster reports, these reports are fully customizable - so you can adjust the date range, add/remove columns, introduce a filter or change the sort to suit your individual needs. See our basic guides here for more info.
For other premium reports you can add to your account, check out our other article guides here.